In order to text your contacts, you will need to create an SMS campaign.
- Add the list(s) of contacts you want to use by uploading a CSV or Google Sheet or pushing a list directly from NGP VAN
- Create any of the following that you want to use:
- Sync data from NGP VAN - only if you already have a NGP VAN integration set up
- Create Teams - only if you will be assigning campaigns to different groups of users
Click Campaigns in the sidebar, then New Campaign. Finally, select 1 to 1 SMS.
There are 5 steps to create your campaign:
- Campaign Visibility
- Public - Every user on your Bluelink account can view and text in this campaign.
- Private - Only the campaign owner can view and text in this campaign.
- Team - Only the users in the assigned team can view and text in the campaign.
- Templates - Select the template message you want to send to your targets, as well as any questions and canned responses you want to be included in the campaign.
- Lists - Select which list of contacts you'd like to send your message to.
- Assigned User - Select a user from the list or click "Assign to Me" to make yourself the Assigned User.
- This is the person who is ultimately responsible for ensuring the campaign is complete. Assigned Users can easily see their campaigns on their dashboard.
- Campaign Name - Create a name for your campaign that will make it easy for other users to understand what this campaign is all about.
After your campaign is created, you'll see that its status is "Pending" while it's being set up. During the setup process we create a queue of people to contact and remove any duplicate phone numbers from your lists - this will take more or less time depending on the size of your list.
Once your campaign is ready, the status will switch to "Open" and you'll see an Activate to Text button appear. Once you activate the campaign, it will appear on the Dashboard to be texted.
We don't hold campaigns as indefinitely enqueued. After two weeks an active campaign will expire, even if there are people left to text. Follow the steps below if you receive this notification.
- You will see an Expired banner on the campaign. When you click into the campaign, you will see the notification shown in the second image.
- Click Overview Page to be redirected to the campaign that expired. Under the Reports menu select Download Uncontacted Targets. This will allow you to create a new campaign with people that were not contacted in the first campaign.
- Create a new campaign with the list of Uncontacted Targets.